Coach Charles: Version 2.0

Today is the first day that we can begin practicing basketball for the Catholic Youth Organization (CYO). I volunteer as a coach for a 7th grade boys’ team and an 8th grade boys’ team at St. Dominic Catholic Church.

I began coaching basketball back when I was an 8th grader at St. Dominic’s as a way to earn service hours. I started by helping coach my cousin Maddy’s 2nd grade girls’ team with her dad, my Uncle Pat.

I know coach his son, Robert, and his 8th grade team with my Uncle Pat. I began coaching the 7th grade team last year when a guy I had met coaching the girls’  team asked me to help.

It is a great way for me to give back to my parish as well as just relax and have a little fun. Words cannot describe how much I enjoy coaching these guys and seeing them grow up through the years.

Me coaching a player

Coaching Trent during a playoff game

Leave a Reply

